Back to School: Stop for School Buses or Be Fined
Its finally here: school.
Lunches are packed, new clothes are picked out, and your child gets to sit next to their best friend on the bus.
Back to school also means something else: being stuck behind a school bus.
It always seems like we are in a rush when we get stuck behind a garbage truck, mail carrier, or school bus. We may try and pass the vehicle holding us up, but be warned, passing doesn't come cheap.
Passing a stopped school bus in New York State can get you a $250 fine, and a lifetime of regret.
According to the NYS DMV's website:
When you stop for a school bus, you cannot drive again until the red lights stop flashing or when the bus driver or a traffic officer signals the you can proceed. This law applies on all roadways in New York State. You must stop for a school bus even if it is on the opposite side of a divided highway.
Not only can you be fined for your actions, you can also cause more damage to someone's life. According to the DMV, most school bus-related deaths and injuries occur while children cross the street after being discharged from the bus, not in collisions that involve school buses.
This means you should wait a few seconds after the red lights stop flashing on a school bus.
School buses also come in different forms besides the long, yellow classic style. Vehicles that transport people with disabilities can be equipped as school buses and you must stop for them as you would for other school buses.
This law also applies to any school bus or school vehicle that is on the OPPOSITE side of the highway or road as well.
Violating the law can also exceed the $250 fine as well:
The fine when you pass a stopped school bus ranges from a minimum of $250 for a first violation to a maximum of $1,000 for three violations in three years. If you are convicted of three of these violations in three years, your driver license will be revoked for a minimum of six months.
[via NYS DMV]